WebsiteBaker Community Forum (upd)

WebsiteBaker Support (2.8.x) => Templates, Menus & Design => Topic started by: pivey on June 02, 2011, 11:08:54 PM

Title: show_menu2 drives me nuts, need your advice
Post by: pivey on June 02, 2011, 11:08:54 PM
Hi,

new to complex menu trees, i am trying to make a droplet to dump into editor and have certain menu levels diplayed.

i have this navigation menu

- START
- HOTELS
      + HOTEL A
              + WELCOME
              + ROOMS
                 + DOUBLE ROOMS
                 + SINGLE ROOMS
              + BARS
- CONFERENCES
- CONTACT

NOW this is my droplet:

ob_start();
show_menu2(0, SM2_CURR);
$content = ob_get_contents();
ob_end_clean();
return $content.' ';

it works.
what i need:

i click on HOTELS > HOTEL A (is menu link to WELCOME)
so far i have all links proper displayed.
              + WELCOME
              + ROOMS
              + BARS
This is OK.

but when i go one level deeper, to ROOMS (is menu link to DOUBLE ROOMS) , i see only
                 + DOUBLE ROOMS
                 + SINGLE ROOMS

But what i actually need, when in DOUBLE, or SINGLE ROOMS is:

              + WELCOME
              + ROOMS
                 + DOUBLE ROOMS
                 + SINGLE ROOMS
              + BARS
with these 2 childs expanded in parent ROOMS

Help? I am stucked here.
The menu2 docu did not make me much clever.
http://code.google.com/p/showmenu2/source/browse/trunk/README.en.txt?r=31

Help is appreciated.
Title: Re: show_menu2 drives me nuts, need your advice
Post by: marmot on June 03, 2011, 09:23:34 PM
Hi,
I don't really know about show_menu2 (sm2) but your problem seems to be clear to me. You configured sm2 to show the current menu level, thats what it does. On level "Welcome" you are satisfied but one level deeper you want sm2 to show current level and one above. If you configure sm2 like that it would show "HotelA" on the "Welcome" level. So what is the rule for showing menu items? Current level or current level and one above? Hope I got your point and you got mine  :wink:

regards
Title: Re: show_menu2 drives me nuts, need your advice
Post by: YoJoe on June 04, 2011, 01:42:13 AM
sm2 is a black magic for me, but you could try with additional template for pages nested on 3rd level.
Title: Re: show_menu2 drives me nuts, need your advice
Post by: pivey on June 10, 2011, 09:54:05 AM
Hi marmot & YoJoe,

thx for your inputs.

Nope, different template is not the way to go.
I know i configured wrong, but that's exactly what i am asking  :wink:

how should a menu2 call look like?
Totally stucked, docu & demos do not help me much.

forgot to say its multilingual, so there is one level more on top.
Actually the nav tree looks like:

- EN
  - START
  - HOTELS
      + HOTEL A
              + WELCOME
              + ROOMS
                 + DOUBLE ROOMS
                 + SINGLE ROOMS
              + BARS
  - CONFERENCES
  - CONTACT

Title: Re: show_menu2 drives me nuts, need your advice
Post by: pivey on June 10, 2011, 10:03:25 AM
well, i try show_menu2(0, SM2_CURR, SM2_CURR+1);
but still no results, as soon i navigate to ROOMS, only 2 liks are present:

                 + DOUBLE ROOMS
                 + SINGLE ROOMS

even show_menu2(0, SM2_CURR, SM2_CURR-1);  has no results, menu not showing at all
aaaaaargh  :-D